>>More News

The  Zambezi River Authority is governed by a Council of Ministers consisting of four members, two of whom are Ministers in the Government of the Republic of Zambia and two of whom are Ministers in the Government of Zimbabwe.


The Zambezi River rises in north-western Zambia and its catchment area covers 1,352,000 square kilometres and eight countries, namely Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.  It enters the Indian Ocean in Mozambique at Quelimane.

It flows for some 2,650 kilometres from the source to the Indian Ocean.  It is the fourth largest river in Africa after the Congo, the Nile and the Niger and it is the largest river in Africa flowing into the Indian Ocean.  Kariba Dam is located approximately halfway down the Zambezi River.

The hydrometric network used for the control and day to day operations of the Kariba reservoir comprise of twelve stations where water levels are monitored daily.  Flow measurements are carried out at seven of these stations.


The Authority shall not be held responsible and/ or liable whatsoever for the contents and material presented on this website